Following the Early Years Framework

The EYFS framework sets out the welfare and developmental goals for children five years and under. It forms the biggest part of our curriculum, and is used every day to track, monitor and plan for your child’s time within the Nursery School.

The main areas it sets out are:


• The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep children safe and promote their welfare.


• The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge.


• Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS.


• Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs)”



Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through

7 areas of learning and development.


Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:


•Communication and language;

•Physical development

•Personal, social and emotional development.


These prime areas are those most essential for a child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are:




•Understanding the world

•Expressive arts and design.


Moulton Nursery school uses these 7 areas to plan children’s activities, observe and track your child’s progress and to therefore make sure your child is making progress.  

"Staff skillfully adapt their interaction and use of resources to cater for children's different interests."

"Staff consistently build on children's skills and understanding and offer them suitable challenges."

                                            - OFSTED.